Projekt Lazarus (HR)

When: 24. 8. 2019 at 20:30

We kindly invite you to Projekt Lazarus concert!

Ticket order:

Ticket price: 10 - 25 EUR

Festibus: Ljubljana (Hala Tivoli) - Brežice at 17:15. Price: 10 EUR. | Zagreb - Brežice at 17:00. Price: 10 EUR

Projekt Lazarus (HR)

Darija Auguštan, Daniela Perosa, Tanja Ruždjak, Iva Krušić: soprano

Martina Menegoni, Nikolina Virgej Pintar: mezzo-soprano

Siniša Galović , Ivan Martinčić: tenor

Matija Meić, Robert Palić: bass

Lucija Pejković: cello

Izidor Erazem Grafenauer: theorbo

Franjo Bilić: organ

Martina Mičija Palić: artistic collaborator

Darijan Ivezić: artistic leader and conductor 




Projekt Lazarus – Baroque supremacy: The new readings of the old masters


Artists’ message to visitors

“Life without music is a mistake” (Friedrich Nietzsche)

“It was, in fact, a time (Baroque) when the music itself had completed its own development, the time when, finally, it filled the prophecy of the ancient sages that music activity on the Earth would cling to ideal music, the harmony of the sphere, and that the music piece would once become the mirror of the space order, Pythagorean mathematical harmony. It was a time when the composers lived in the Earthly paradise of the music and when their organ pipes were like telescopes, focused solely on the sky, listening to the laws of the ultimate harmony…” (Zvonimir Berković)


About the project

The Projekt Lazarus was initially launched with the aim of revitalizing and promoting the Croatian musical heritage of the late Renaissance and Baroque, with particular emphasis on the scientific research of the leading Croatian expert, the scholar Ennio Stipčević and his associates. Within the effort to contextualize the Croatian renaissance and baroque musical heritage through the aspects of European cultural heritage, the Croatian Music Center is putting efforts through the Projekt Lazarus for years in the revitalization and promotion of Croatian renaissance and baroque music, pointing to a common Western European civilization and cultural origin, presenting a true cultural richness created in centuries, the cornerstone of the European future.


Projekt Lazarus (HR)

On the Croatian music scene since 2013 operates a new professional ensemble called “Projekt Lazarus”, whose unusual name hides the main objective of this ensemble – the revitalization of Croatian musical heritage. “Projekt Lazarus” has been established within the association of Croatian Music Centre by initiator and founder of the ensemble bass Robert Palić, a member of the Opera of the Croatian National Theatre in Zagreb.

Concert programme

Bonaventura Beretta (1594-1687)

Clio sacra

Domine ad adiuvandum / Dixit Dominus / Confitebor tibi / Beatus vir / Laudate pueri / Laudate Dominum / Magnificat




Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)

Stabat Mater

Stabat Mater / Cujus animam gementem / Quis non posset / Eja Mater, fons amoris / Sancta Mater, istud agas / Fac me vere tecum flere / Juxta crucem / Inflammatus / Fac ut animae / Amen


The concert program is conceived in a way to represent two baroque composers of very different backgrounds and geographical and temporal distances. Bonaventura Beretta OFMConv. (Saronno, 1594 - Conegliano, 1687), is almost completely unknown Italian composer with only one preserved work, a collection of two to four-lane psalms “Clio sacra” - Davidicos psalmos vespertinis horis adscriptos notis musicis decantans, published in Venice in 1635. The collection consists of 17 psalms written for two and four voices (SATB). The two-lane lyrical psalms are composed in several voice pairs, most often for soprano and bass, which were not the most common example in baroque literature (more often we have similar voices, like soprano or tenor), while the four-lane psalms are written in a mixed four-voices set. Even though the most recent "soli" and "tutti" changes in the last revision of “Clio sacra” based on the manuscript sources, it can be recognized as homophonically and polyphonically treated verses that becomes “solo” in the knowledge of the baroque tradition of interpretation. Such a change gives to the performers, depending on the size of the vocal ensemble, greater freedom to create different harmonies within the composition.

Several of the psalms in the collection have been carried out through the two- and four-lane sets which are also characteristical for this work, making it more “adjustable” to perform, without the necessity of performing the collection in its entirety. Since the four-lane psalms with the use of baroque technique "soli" and "tutti" alterations shows advanced polyphonic technique, which is largely based on renaissance literature and have greater complexity within the lanes, therefore will be presented at tonight's concert.

Although born in Naples and educated in Naples and Venice, Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757) spent most of his life in Portugal and Spain. From his very rich legacy for the evening concert we chose to present his masterpiece, “Stabat Mater” for ten voices (ca. 1715). Stabat Mater is considered a masterpiece of vocal and instrumental literature. Its dimensions, a unique spatial concept, an irresistible dramatic momentum, lyrical sweetness combined with a clear stylistic unity and extraordinary organization of coloristic resources, have classified this work into a company of great musical achievements of the first half of the 18th century. “Stabat Mater” is meditatively composed and clearly intended for liturgical use. The composition is divided into seven paragraphs in which it varies between 1 and 5 verses. Compared to other works of this period, the “Stabat Mater” is largely based on the forms of the 16th century, with polyphonic melodies appearing in counterpoint tapestry, although individual voices occasionally come to the top. The last paragraph is in great contrast to the earlier paragraphs; dance-writing fugues brings us back to the modern style of composer's time and are a brilliant sign of the ingenuity of Domenico Scarlatti.


Brežice, Brežice Castle

The two-storey castle is the mightiest building in Brežice, built in the middle of the 16th century in the site of the castle which was burnt down in 1515, in time of the great peasant revolt.



The price of coach provided for all concerts from Ljubljana and Zagreb is 10€. Departure from Hala Tivoli and Lisinski Hall.